Orion's Belt

The best way to watch the Star Wars saga

So with the release of The Force Awakens, I recently re-watched the entire saga, but this was the first time I tried the Full Machete order. For those who don't know, this is the order:

  • Episode IV: A New Hope
  • Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
  • Episode I: The Phantom Menace
  • Episode II: Attack Of The Clones
  • Episode III: Revenge Of The Sith
  • Episode VI: Return Of The Jedi

I really enjoyed the experience and I would recommend this as the order in which to recruit newcomers to the saga. Some of the best things about watching in this order are:

  • You start off watching the first movie released, as that sets the plot for the original trilogy
  • You are introduced to the concept of 'Jedi' and 'Force'
  • Episode IV also introduces most of the protagonists, Luke, Leia and Han Solo
  • Episode V, which some may say is the best in the series, continues their story and has a major reveal, and ends on a cliffhanger
  • Then we take a long flashback that explains why Vader is who he is
  • Episode I, even though not essential to the story line, can still be fun to watch if you watch it with an open mind
  • Episode I also gives a clue as to how much Anakin fears losing his loved ones
  • Episode II and III shows how Vader joined the dark side and how the Jedi order fell, as well as the rise of Palpatine
  • Episode III has some really great moments that leave you exclaiming 'Wow!' as well as some tear-jerking ones
  • Then we switch back to the original trilogy and watch the conclusion of Vader's story
  • Episode VI also sets the backdrop for the new trilogy
Fear is the path to the dark side.

If you decide to also watch the animated series / movies, then this is the order to watch it in:

  • Clone Wars (2003) Volume 1
  • Clone Wars (2003) Volume 2 - First episode
  • The Clone Wars (2008 movie)
  • The Clone Wars (2008 series)
  • Clone Wars (2003) Volume 2 - Remaining episodes

No comments

Post a Comment